3 Sponsored Product Campaigns You Should Have For A Successful Launch

types of keywords in SEO PPC amazon

When launching a new product on Amazon, besides having an optimal product listing, having PPC campaigns set up properly is a prerequisite to success of your launch. I’m going to show you my Amazon PPC launch strategy that repeatedly helped my products become No.1 New Release on Amazon US, including my most recent launch.

Ngoc Truong's No 1 New Release product on amazon US
My most recent launch became No.1 New Release on Amazon US

Below are the three Amazon PPC sponsored product campaigns that you should have for your launch.

create Sponsored products Campaigns on amazon
Amazon Sponsored Products PPC Campaign

1. Auto campaign

Leverage the algorithm’s ability to find relevant search terms and products that will help you attract potential buyers. 

create an Auto Campaign on amazon
Create an Auto Campaign

Basically, Amazon search engine will show your product ad to potential buyers in the search result based on search terms they use, or it will display your product ad on product listings that are either direct competitors or complementary to yours.

Auto Campaign Stats launch month
My Auto Campaign Stats for A Product Launch in 2023

You don’t know what you don’t know. Your assumptions about what resonates with your product could be incorrect or incomplete. Therefore, during the early launch stage, let the Amazon algorithm, with its vast data vault and AI capabilities, to go out and discover what works for your product.

To learn more about how to optimise an Auto campaign after you set it up using negative targeting, watch my video below:

2. Exact Keyword Campaign

create an Exact keyword Campaign on Amazon

Target all highly-relevant keywords identified in your Keyword Research. These will mostly be long-tail keywords.

Keyword Resarch amazon ppc
How a professional Amazon keyword research looks like

If you target short-tail keywords in your niche, be prepared for a high volume of clicks and rapid expenditure. Additionally, conversion rates for short-tail keywords are usually lower than those for long-tail keywords.

For a deeper understanding of long-tail vs. short-tail keywords, highly-relevant, and keyword match types on Amazon, watch my videos about Amazon Keywords – Everything You Should Know.

types of keywords in SEO PPC amazon
Types of keywords in SEO and PPC

3. Product Targeting Campaign

 

create product targeting campaign on amazon

Before you launch a product, you should have done competition research where you identify your top competitors. This research will also be an input to your Keyword Research, where you’ll use reverse ASIN lookup to extract your competitors’ keywords.

Place these in a Product Targeting campaign using “Exact” targeting, not “Expanded.” If you choose “Expanded”, it will function like an Auto campaign, showing your product alongside complementary and substitute products, which is already covered by your Auto campaign.

By selecting “Exact,” you can accurately determine if those ASINs are effective for your product and maintain better control over your ad spend.

I won’t go into detail about setting up these campaigns in this article, as it would be too lengthy. I’ve included links to relevant videos at the end of this article for you to learn more.

Additionally, a fourth type of PPC campaign that will boost your launch is Product Collection sponsored brand campaign. This campaign type is working well at the moment in most categories. However, this campaign requires certain criteria that are: your product must be brand registered, and there must be at least three ASINs of the same brand in the ad. So it may not be applicable to many newbie sellers. However, if you meet the above criteria, you should definitely try a Product Collection ad campaign in your launch.

4. Listing Optimisation Is Where You Make It or Break It

three core elements of selling on amazon diagram circles pies
Listing Optimisation is Crucial to Success of an Amazon FBA Business

Now, beyond proper PPC setup, the most crucial aspect is having an optimized listing, including photos, videos (if any), copy, and backend optimization. This can make or break your Amazon FBA success; if your listing doesn’t convert visitors into customers, your ACOS (Advertising Cost of Sale) will be high, and your organic ranking could suffer due to a low conversion rate.

Here’s a quick example: Suppose you drive 500 clicks from PPC at $0.7 per click, totaling $350. With a Conversion Rate of 5%, you get 25 sales from $350 in ad spend.

PPC traffic amazon listing conversion rate acos
Advertising Cost and Listing Conversion Rate

Now, if your Conversion Rate is 10%, you’ll get 50 sales. Your sales have doubled with the same ad spend.

return on ad spend acos lisitng conversion rate
How Listing Conversion Rate Will Increase Your Return on Same Ad Spend Dollars

And remember, your sales from organic traffic will also increase, without any additional cost.

So having an optimized listing is essential for success on Amazon.

Before starting your campaigns, make sure you have a great product listing. It’s akin to preparing your house before inviting guests in.

That’s why I wrote the book: Zero to Bestseller – How To Build A 7-Figure Amazon Listing From Day One, which will provide you with all the knowledge and tools you need to create a bestseller product listing on Amazon. Check it out.zero to bestseller amazon listing book cover front and back

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